

## **PRESS RELEASE**

R т Μ

С

Private Bag X147, Pretoria, 0001 Tel: (012) 999 5200 - Fax: (012) 991 0371 Eco Origin Office Park, Block F, 349 Witch-Hazel Street, Highveld Ext 79, Centurion



То : All News Editors Issued : 01 November 2018 Attention : News Reporters / Transport Reporters / Newswires

## Slain traffic officers to be remembered

**GAUTENG-**: Ayanda Zulu, a Johannesburg Metro Police Department who was qunned down in Palmsprings, will be among a list of traffic officers who will be remembered tomorrow when the Road Traffic Management Corporation and the Institute of Traffic Police and Municipal Officers of Southern Africa host a wreath-laying ceremony in Pretoria.

Ms Zulu was shot and killed by two gunmen as she left her home in the early hours of the morning in April this year. She was robbed of her firearm.

Her name will be inscribed on the remembrance wall where all the names of slain traffic are written. More than 350 names have been inscribed on the wall.

There has been a sharp increase in attacks against traffic officers in South African this year. Gauteng has experienced the highest number of fatal attacks.

Board of Directors: Mr Z Majavu CD(SA) (Chairman), Ms P Manqele, Ms T Mdlulwa, Ms D Ewertse, Mr T Kgomo, Prof. M Mphahlele, Ms T Thankge, Dr E Thebe, Mr J Motsatsing\* **Chief Executive Officer: Advocate MS Msibi Company Secretary: Ms S Petse** \*Departmental Representative

While some officers have been shot and killed while on duty, the majority of them were ran over by motorists who failed to stop when instructed to do so. In many cases, those motorists were found to be driving under the influence of alcohol.

The Minister of Transport Dr Blade Nzimande and MECs from all provinces are expected to attend the event.

Details are as follows: Date: 02 November 2018 Venue: Boekenhoutkloof Traffic Training College, Pretoria Time: 8:30am

## ENDS

## **ISSUED BY: THE ROAD TRAFFIC MANAGEMENT CORPORATION (RTMC)**

Contact person: Simon Zwane: Spokesperson (082) 551-9892

Board of Directors: Mr Z Majavu CD(SA) (Chairman), Ms P Manqele, Ms T Mdlulwa, Ms D Ewertse, Mr T Kgomo, Prof. M Mphahlele, Ms T Thankge, Dr E Thebe, Mr J Motsatsing\* Chief Executive Officer: Advocate MS Msibi Company Secretary: Ms S Petse \*Departmental Representative